Push Away… Chp 34

149642_462126368669_686650_n

 

He pulled out a picture slowly handing it to me.  It was a picture of a lovely young woman hugging a little girl.  She looked about three or four.  I traced my finger over them, “They are both beautiful.”  I glanced up at him as tears filled his eyes.

He was slow to respond this time, “…That was my wife and child.”

Was?  …Was?  What did he mean?  I laid my head down on him wrapping my arm around him.  I didn’t know what to ask, what to say, or even how I was feeling at this very moment.

The warmth of his fingers trailed up and down my back, “I suppose I should explain.”

Leave a Reply

